Some fun photos from a recent trip out of site

Peace Corps paid for me to take a trip down to the training site in Elbasan to take part in a training session for the new volunteers right off the boat from Amerika. Here are photos I took along the way…

Just happened to take the same intercity van to Tirana with a friend.

Just happened to take the same intercity van to Tirana with a friend.

I ran into some neighborhood kids from my training site. albanians dont like to wear glasses so when we realized we all had glasses AND hoodies we had to take a picture.

I ran into some neighborhood kids from my training site. Albanians dont like to wear glasses so when we realized we all had glasses AND hoodies we had to take a picture.

Grandmother from the host family I stayed with during training. She wants me to pu ton some weight so that I can find a wife.

Grandmother from the host family I stayed with during training. She wants me to put on some weight so that I can find a wife.

the miracle of life!

the miracle of life!

from on top of the pyramid in Tirana. its such a great urban feature that you just dont find anywhere else.

from on top of the pyramid in Tirana. a climbable abandoned communist pyramid is a great urban feature that you just don’t find anywhere else.

for as much as i spend during one day at site I can bowl one game in Tirana.

for as much as i spend during one day at site I can bowl one game in Tirana.

Theyve turned a bunker in the posh part of Tirana into a kind of memorial. I expect it to be destroyed very very soon.

Theyve turned a bunker in the posh part of Tirana into a kind of memorial. I expect the glass to be destroyed very very soon.

part of the berlin wall

part of the berlin wall

part of a communist era mining work camp

part of a communist era mining work camp

entrance to the bunker

entrance to the bunker

memorial to foudning of  the deeply illegal antifascist children's group.

memorial to founding of the deeply illegal antifascist children’s group.

statue in the park

statue in the park

albanian knock-off of mcdonalds food. actually tastes pretty good.

albanian knock-off of mcdonalds food. actually tastes pretty good.

One response to “Some fun photos from a recent trip out of site

  1. I only just found your blog but it is great! And your blog name is hilarious! I’m Albanian and I loved reading some of your posts and looking at these pictures. I know Albania can be frustrating but it’s an experience very few will have, right? 😛

Leave a Reply

